Optimistic, for no real reason.

June 27, 2007

Today I’m feeling optimistic about our chances of getting knocked up. Who knows how long this feeling will last, but I’m enjoying it while it’s here.

Why the optimism, you ask? Well, I don’t really know. It could have something to do with going to the doctor yesterday for my annual physical and discovering that I had “only” gained six pounds since the last exam (actually a year and a half ago, in January ’06). I had expected her to give a much higher number, probably because this past school year has been so stressful on its own–nobody told me that life gets busier after tenure–and trying, unsuccessfully, to get pregnant added a second huge layer of stress.

I don’t think of myself as an emotional eater, but one reaction I have to stress at these levels is an almost rebellious desire to spoil myself (only child much?). Logic, and a working knowledge of human dietary requirements, would tell me that it’s really not in my best interests to “take care of myself” with sugar and butterfat instead of salads and exercise, but the stomach wants what it wants. So I walked into the doctor’s office with a feeling of real dread–I knew I was about to hear the truth about my sporadic exercise and luxuriously fatty diet. I nearly jumped for joy when I learned that the damage was “only” 6 pounds. Six pounds is reversible. Based on past experience, I am betting I can get rid of six pounds in a week or two.

Does this have something to do with making a baby? Not really, but it is a reminder that things are sometimes not as bad as they seem. What if this month, or next, is our month, and all of the angst of the past eight cycles has been worry over nothing? That’d be a lovely happy ending. And today it seems more possible than ever.

One Response to “Optimistic, for no real reason.”


  1. […] weight, but nonetheless I am happy to see the numbers going down. I’ve officially lost that six pounds that I’d gained since the last time I saw my doctor! Now if I could just add another 20 […]

Leave a Reply

