Tip of an angel’s wing? Really?

July 2, 2007

So, I’ve had some weird cramping today. Of course it’s too soon to be anything pregnancy-related, but that didn’t stop me from Googling “implantation symptoms.”

Anyway, to the subject line of this post: in my searching, I found this site, one of the first to come up in a Google search. It starts out with lots of practical points, like

Implantation can be defined as the attachment of a fertilized egg to the lining of the uterus[.]

and

Implantation […] happens within 1-2 days after arrival of the zygote/blastocyst in the uterus, usually around 9 days after ovulation (dpo), with a range of 6-12 days.

Sure, makes sense. Hey, I read TCOYF, I know the drill.
What does NOT make sense is the last line of this particular informational page, which reads as follows:

If you are among the lucky few who can feel implantation, then it may feel as if an angel is touching you inside the womb with the tip of one of the feathers of his wings.

Erwhaa?

Maybe this was sarcasm. Please, dear god in heaven, let it be sarcasm.

Now, I have nothing against angels, and their wings, and the (surely) glowing, iridescent feathers on those wings, and if angels want to reach out to uteri around the world and tickle them with the tips of said glowing feathers, more power to them. The angels, I mean. Hey, your wings, your decision. But is it just me, or does it seem at all strange that a presumably medical site (“med” does appear in the URL, after all) includes this on its FAQ page? Don’t worry, that question is purely rhetorical.

In any case, I have not yet been touched by an angel, that I know of. I will most certainly keep you posted.

One Response to “Tip of an angel’s wing? Really?”

  1. Ariel Says:

    What strikes me is how totally useless it is as a comparison. As far as I know, none of my internal organs have been tickled by angels, so I’m not going to read that and say “oh, so that time yesterday when it felt like an angel was dipping a feather in me, that was implantation??? Neato! I’m going to have a baby!”

Leave a Reply

