Sick of, well, doin’ it.

July 22, 2007

I am planning on another post soon about the racial complexities of our recent experience in Cape Cod, inspired by something posted on this academic blog. But for now, a more, shall we say, concrete topic, namely, that G and I have just about reached our limit on baby-making sex for this cycle, which means we’re faced with a bit of a dilemma. What to do about the next few days? Do we force ourselves to follow doctor’s orders?

Wait, I should back up. I think I mentioned here that I had an appointment with a new ob-gyn last month, a lovely woman whom I’ll call Dr. Blase. Dr. Blase, who was at that point approximately 8.5 months pregnant**, had no use for my months of basal body temperature charts, recommended against the “stress” of ovulation predictor kits, and advised, based on the typical length of my cycles, that G and I should just have sex every other day, starting around CD7 and ending around CD17.

…Whoa. That, my friends, is a lot of sex to have in a ten day period, at least for a couple like us. Neither of us has a particularly strong libido, which is just fine with us when TTC is not in the picture. We have our fun, of course, but we’re hardly setting any records (so much for hypersexual black people–another stereotype down the drain!).

When it comes to TTC, though, our regular “schedule” doesn’t really cut it, especially since we’re sort of Weekend Warriors in the sex department. Unfortunately, my ovaries cannot be convinced to release eggs only on Fridays, Saturdays, or Sundays. They are SUCH freaking divas, wanting to pop eggs out on their own biologically determined schedule, and not telling a soul in advance. Mysterious little b*tches.

Anyway, thanks to our vacation, we have managed to get in some rather enjoyable “following of doctor’s orders” on CD8, CD10, and CD12. But now CD14 and 16 loom ahead, Monday and Wednesday. G is headed back to work this week, so leisurely morning or midday sex is out of the question, and he’ll be exhausted in the evenings. Plus, personally, I’ve had enough sex in the past few days to tide me over at LEAST until next weekend, and I’m pretty sure G feels the same way. So what do we do?

*shrug* Guess we’ll just see how we feel tomorrow. I can already tell that CD16 is just not gonna happen (five times in nine days? um, no), but I hope we can manage at least CD 14. I hate feeling like we’re not doing our part to get pregnant just because we don’t want to force ourselves to have sex this much. Why can’t I be like those folks who have a one night stand and get Knocked Up? Sigh.

Oh wait, you mean my life isn’t a Hollywood movie? There certainly seems to be adequate drama.

**Yes, that’s right. My new ob-gyn, with whom I was hoping to discuss our possible infertility in detail, is hugely pregnant. Insert “oh, the irony” smiley here.

3 Responses to “Sick of, well, doin’ it.”

  1. Ariel Says:

    I cannot fathom how spending a few seconds a day peeing (something my body does anyway!) on a stick or recording a temperature could possibily be more stressful than having sex 5 or 6 decidedly unspontaneous times. A sex life is not something you want to mess with. If my pee routine feels a little tense, I’ll live. If I get jittery about waking up at the right time for the thermometer, it’s not as if I have ever greeted my alarm clock with a sunny smile. No relationship is immune from wear and tear after months of timed sex, but there is no reason to straight up sacrifice your sex life to the gods, which is what I think Dr. Blase would have you do. Woman is crazy. Probably the hormones.


  2. Oh wow…what troopers. I’m exhausted just reading about it. you may want to consider a fertility monitor or OPKs??? I know you don’t want the stress but it will hopefully tighter your fertile days a bit more. Wishing you the best on this cycle!

  3. cityprof Says:

    Yeah, you are both right that OPKs are a much better idea than having this much scheduled sex. Assuming this month is another no-go, that will be the plan for next month, especially since I have a shitload of babyhopes.com opk test strips left from an overzealous purchase early in the TTC process. Charting, though, I think I have to stay away from. You know, I don’t even use an alarm clock, and typically can tell myself before I go to sleep, “I want to wake up at X time” and actually wake up then–but charting screws up my whole system. Half the time I wake up at 3 or 4am, just from anticipating taking my temp. I did it for a good nine months, but I’ve given up on it.

Leave a Reply

