3 pounds

July 27, 2007

Apparently, I’ve “lost” three pounds since Monday, when I last weighed myself. Both times I got on the scale with an empty bladder and empty stomach, just after waking up. I’m not too excited by this “loss,” though, because my weight tends to fluctuate a lot within a five or six pound range. My current weight is about where I land when I eat reasonably healthfully, without controlling portions but without eating dessert every day either, and also without exercising very much. If I go through a few days of eating ice cream every night or going out to eat several times, my weight tends to shoot up by three or four pounds in a matter of days, and if I go back to my “regular” behavior, it shoots right back down.

But not that far. Dropping three or even five pounds is nothing for me, and requires almost zero effort, but making that loss count by increasing it to ten or fifteen pounds lost is tougher. Even this winter, when I was exercising consistently 4 times a week on the elliptical machine, my weight was only about five pounds lower than it is now, and didn’t go down very fast after the first quick loss.

I think this is one reason why I often lose motivation with exercising for weight loss–rather than being inspired by the first 4 or 5 pounds to come off, I get discouraged by how slowly things happen after that, and start to slowly slack off the exercise. I’m bad at portion control anyway, so once I slow down my exercise frequency it doesn’t take long for me to end up back where I started.

Maybe yoga will help me break out of this pattern. I’m not doing it to lose weight, but to feel healthier and more flexible, so I have no reason to give up too soon. Plus, yoga helps me stay mindful about food–which ultimately means I eat less than usual.

I’ve often wondered whether being overweight (currently I’m about 35 lbs from where I should be) is affecting my fertility, but I do seem to ovulate regularly, and the information about overweight women and fertility that I’ve seen suggests that most of the problems overweight women have come from irregular or absent ovulation. Based on how regular my periods are, I have to assume that’s not quite my problem. On the other hand, this study suggests that when both members of a couple are overweight, it can take up to three times as long to get knocked up, although the researchers don’t seem entirely clear on why that is. Since G and I both need to lose weight, maybe this has been our problem all along.

Well, we’ll see what happens. I know I probably shouldn’t be, given the weight issue, but I’m somewhat hopeful about this cycle. Unbelievably, G agreed to one more baby-making session Wednesday night (CD16), so this month I feel confident that we’ve done absolutely all we can to maximize our chances of conception, at least according to Dr. Blase. I’m going to stick with the yoga, because it makes me feel good, and if we don’t get lucky this time around I’ll start getting more aggressive about losing weight over the next few months.

One Response to “3 pounds”


  1. […] 15th, 2007 Posting quickly to report that although I just said it was hard for me to turn a weight loss of a few pounds into something more substantial, as of […]

Leave a Reply

