Ups and downs.

July 31, 2007

Tonight (CD22) I’ve been having some mild, menstrual-like cramping.

I don’t know what to think–right now I seem to be vacillating between hope and despair.

Why hope? Because mayoclinic.com tells me that “Some women […] experience abdominal cramping early in pregnancy. These cramps are similar to menstrual cramps.” Implantation can cause cramping, I think. And there are all sorts of women on this site who say they were sure their periods were on the way when, in fact, they were pregnant. That could be me, couldn’t it? It sure would be nice.

So why despair? Because my shortest recent cycle was 24 days, so this could very well just be the beginning of Aunt Flo’s arrival for this cycle. That cycle, the spotting that I thought was “implantation spotting,” which happened around 8 days after I ovulated, turned into full-on bleeding two days later–which put me at a not-at-all-normal nine day luteal phase for that month. I’ve never had a cycle that short before or since, but now I know it’s a possibility, which means cramps on CD22 could be kind of a bad omen.

Sigh. Ah, the joys of the two week wait. I guess I’ll find out soon enough when/if I start bleeding/spotting. This cycle I refuse to test until I’m actually “late,” which is more than a week from now. The longest cycle I’ve ever had in in my life was 32 days–so if I’m not bleeding by August 11, then I’ll test. And you can hold me to that.

Leave a Reply

