Eating my words, already

August 15, 2007

Posting quickly to report that although I just said it was hard for me to turn a weight loss of a few pounds into something more substantial, as of today I’m down 10.5 pounds so far! The scale reported this yesterday, actually, but I wanted to weigh myself again today to see whether the loss had “stuck” or was just a temporary fluke.

So that’s 10.5 pounds lost since around July 25, when I started doing yoga (I started major calorie-cutting around July 30, and although G and I had been getting a few walks in here and there, I didn’t get back on the elliptical machine until just last week, August 7th or 8th). So that’s three and a half pounds per week, which is way too speedy a weight loss to sustain. Most experts suggest that you shouldn’t try to lose more than two pounds per week.

Still, I’m feeling pretty good about it. I know I won’t continue to lose weight this fast, but it feels great to be so close to one of the goals that I set back in July (that would be goal #1: lose 15 pounds by October 1st; goal #2 is to lose 30 pounds by Christmas). At this rate, I might manage to lose the rest of the 15 pounds by September 1st–only 4.5 pounds to go, after all.

Hey, that’s actually right around 2 pounds per week.

2 Responses to “Eating my words, already”


  1. That’s great…it adds up!

  2. loren Says:

    Wow, that’s great news! Keep up the good work!! And hopefully you can gain a differant kind of weight soo, the kind that includes a b-a-b-y!

Leave a Reply

