What is… a “Badonkadonk”?

October 28, 2007

For those of you scratching your heads over the title of this post, a bit of backstory–while our cable was out we watched a bunch of Chappelle’s Show on DVD. Dave Chappelle is a comedic genius as far as I’m concerned. And so freaking smart. I’m incredibly sad that he stopped doing his show, although I think I understand his reasons. But American race relations (and comedy) need him! Carlos Mencia is not at all a good replacement. Please–come back, Dave!

In any case, the post title is actually a question from a hilarious skit called “I Know Black People,” a game show that asked real people crazy trivia questions about black folks. And if you know black people, you know that a badonkadonk is a slang term for an ample boo-tay, and a nice one at that.

What does this have to do with Cityprof, you might be asking yourself? Well, I think my own personal badonkadonk is looking pretty good these days, and the proof is that I just bought a pair of jeans in a SIZE TWELVE! Really, I haven’t worn a 12 since before I met G in 2002. Back then I had a pair of tight leather pants that I simply loved. Over the years they’ve been a mental symbol of when I was my “thinnest” as a fully-grown woman, although they went to the Goodwill long ago.

This weekend, though, I realized that due to the recent weight loss (25.5 lbs and counting), all of my size 14 jeans are way too big, even the ones that used to be a little tight. Wearing too-big size 14 work pants is one thing–not only do you not want your work clothes to be too form-fitting for professionalism’s sake, but also, it’s not like I want my students checking out my behind the entire class period. Hot for teacher indeed.

But jeans, jeans are for the weekends, for social events, and they are supposed to fit snugly. And show off the assets, if you know what I mean.

So although I do have more weight to lose, I decided to try on some new jeans at the mall on Saturday. On a whim, I picked up a size 12 DKNY pair that looked promising, and lo and behold–they fit like a glove. I present the visual evidence below:
badonkadonk2

Not bad, eh? I’m sure Sir Mixalot himself would be proud.

6 Responses to “What is… a “Badonkadonk”?”

  1. Shanna Says:

    …and what nice assets they are!

  2. Casey Says:

    Wahoo!

  3. Vanessa Says:

    You look great !

  4. Kim Says:

    Alright now, girl! Shake what yo mama gave ya! 🙂
    Congrats…lookin good 🙂

  5. ananda Says:

    you go girl. mixalot would holla at you. sending you love and light as you navigate your journey to become pregnant. i just discovered your blog and will be back more often. many blessings. affirming a healthy and abundant pregnancy and baby for you. peace. ananda

Leave a Reply

