A quick update, plus painful holiday party adventures

December 16, 2007

So, the results of both my MIS test and my 2nd day bloodwork are in, and I am “well within normal range.” FSH low, estradiol also low, MIS high. Which means, basically, that I have plenty of eggs left, and they seem to be in good shape. This is good news, of course, but I still can’t help but feel like we’re at the beginning of what could possibly be a very long journey.

On that note, next stop on the train is the HSG, which is scheduled for this coming Friday morning. I’ve been instructed not to have any unprotected sex between now and then, which effectively means no sex at all, because I don’t think we actually own any condoms, even if either of us were willing to use one. Then, to compound the sex complications, my mom arrives for her annual Christmas visit the very same day as the HSG. Which means that if G and I are to enjoy the rumored fertility boost of the procedure (which is unproven anyway), we’re going to have to get down to the get-down while Mom’s in town.

…Well, we’ve done that before, and I guess we’ll be doing it again. (Doing it! Heh heh heh! )

In any case, here is a shot of me in those holiday shoes I mentioned a few posts ago, along with the rest of the outfit (click the pic for a larger version):
dressy

But, and this is the painful part, those shoes turned out to be REALLY uncomfortable. And these days I consider myself pretty heel-savvy. My biggest mistake was buying them a half-size too large (last pair, 40% off!) and figuring with various insoles and heel appliques and whatnot I could make them wearable. What I succeeded in doing was making them too small. I mean, they were wearable, in the loosest sense of the term–for a few hours, sitting down–but one go of the Electric Slide at G’s departmental holiday party and my left pinkie toe was burning like it had been attacked by a rogue power sander. And so I literally limped out of the hotel ballroom at the end of the night and took off the death shoes as soon as I got into the car. The moral of the story is never buy shoes that don’t fit you. I’d like to turn that into some kind of parable about life–don’t hobble down a road that doesn’t feel right?–but mostly, it’s just some advice about shoes. Seriously, take it from someone who knows. Ill-fitting shoes really suck, no matter how cute you look.

(But I did look pretty cute, right?)

5 Responses to “A quick update, plus painful holiday party adventures”


  1. Great news on your results! That sounds promising.

    And I hate uncomfortable shoes. the bottom line is that if I can’t go to a function where the shoes ca’t safely come off. Sorry folks, I’m wearing my shower shoes. LOL

    I have a corn/callous thingy on the side of my big toe the size of Mt Everest and have for years. AAAAARGH My husband reminds me of it often, when he bumps it daily in his haste to get to the remote.

    And YES you looked very cute!!!!!

  2. Shanna Says:

    Take out everything you put into the shoes, and just stuff the toes with soft tissues (not tissue paper). Overstuff by a little, wear them around the house for half an hour. The tissue will compact and mold to your toes perfectly. (I almost always end up with heels that are a half-size too big for me, as I have slightly wide feet. This is my go-to trick.)

  3. Kenya Says:

    Too funny. I have been in that shoe hell also. Poor pinkie toe..

  4. Michelle Says:

    You look amazing in the dress, shoes be damned!


  5. Yes girl, you look really cute in the picture! And the shoes are fierce (apparently in more ways than one).

Leave a Reply

