CD22, and happy 2008.

January 1, 2008

Hi all; happy new year! Wishing you all a healthy and prosperous 2008.

There’s not too much to report here–as I mentioned last post, I turned 33 on Christmas day. I’m not feeling particularly different, in a good way or a bad way. I still feel pretty “young,” which I guess is good, and I’m glad that I still have most of my thirties ahead of me. And yet I am also feeling more and more confident and comfortable in my skin, which I think is something that comes along with age, so I’m glad that I’m getting older, and hopefully a bit wiser.

I’m not sure what, if anything, all of this has to do with fertility. Many days, I still don’t feel “ready” to have a child. Parenthood seems like such a sacrifice, especially for the mother. In all honesty, I can’t say that I’m looking forward to giving up a huge chunk of my autonomy. But I do, more and more, enjoy the babies and toddlers that I’ve had the chance to get to know, and in the process I feel like I have a much clearer sense of what G and I may be getting ourselves into. And of the joys that exist there. So I’m feeling very zen about our future parenthood possibilities right now, whatever they might be.

On that note, it’s CD 22 for me, here on January 1, and so I’m expecting my period to start sometime soon, as early as Friday, but probably more like Saturday or Sunday of this week. Of course, if I have a particularly long cycle this month, Aunt Flo’s arrival might hold off until Monday or even Tuesday of next week. We’ll see.

Even though I know my hopes are supposed to be up because of the post-HSG fertility boost, they’re not, since this was a pretty low-sex cycle. My mom was here, which made finding the time and space to have sex a much more complicated affair, and after my mom left, I was out of town at a conference from CD 16 through CD 20. I think G and I squeezed in some lovin’ on CD 13 and 15, but if I ovulated late, as I sometimes do, that’s not going to help much. And anyway, what are the chances, really? “A little bit better than 2%” is still pretty slim!

2 Responses to “CD22, and happy 2008.”

  1. Kenya Says:

    Happy New Year’s girl! Hopefully ’08 can bring on some good news.


  2. OH MY GOD! I TOTALLY FORGOT TO WISH YOU HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!! AND YOU, MISS UN-EGOTISTICAL, DIDN’T EVEN COMPLAIN.

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

