Um… IVF here we come?

February 26, 2008

In other words, folks, the SA results are not good. We’re going to have to repeat the sample to make sure, but it looks like we’ve got inadequate sperm count (only 6 million when they like to see at least 40 million), not-so-great motility, and questionable morphology too. Crap! I worried that we’d be dealing with male factor, but still can’t believe BOTH of us have turned out to be “broken.” This plus my blocked tube means we are not a couple who are statistically likely to start a family on our own!

So, unless the second test shows that these results were a crazy fluke, it’s looking like IVF may be the next step for us, rather than Clomid/IUI. With male factor, I think IVF + ICSI are fairly standard procedure, and both are covered by Aetna (well, up to a limit of three cycles per lifetime–generous, but not that generous).

In the when-it-rains-it-pours file, I ALSO found out today that I’m a carrier for sickle-cell anemia. I have to call tomorrow to see if I can track down G’s blood test results (I’m utterly confused as to why those weren’t ready to be given to us along with the SA info). If it turns out that he’s a carrier as well, we’d have a 1 in 4 chance of having a kid with sickle-cell disease. That would mean that our IVF cycles would also have to include preimplantation genetic diagnosis. I doubt that our insurance covers this, as the certificate of benefits (which I have SCOURED, believe me) makes no mention of it either way. At our clinic, PGD costs an extra $2500 per cycle. I am REALLY hoping that G is not also a carrier.

So that’s my news. Also, apropos of crappy news, thanks, all, for the commiseration about our tax bill last post! Ugh, right? We’ve managed to reconcile ourselves to it, and have even figured out a decent way to budget for the payments (even with lower net salaries, since we’ve also had to ask the IRS to withhold a bunch extra from both of our paychecks so that we won’t have this problem again next year). But still, damn. The tax news does sort of pale in comparison to the infertility news, although after a good cry behind closed doors at work today, I’m even feeling a bit better about the infertility stuff. It sucks, yes, but it’s not the end of the world, or the end of our plans for parenthood.

G, of course, is his usual upbeat self in spite of the news. I am hoping he’s not just putting on a brave face for my benefit–he definitely plays the role of being my “rock” in hard times, but he doesn’t always take care of his own emotional needs, or let me play that same role for him. So I’m trying to keep the channels of communication open in case he does have unhappy feelings he wants to share, but he claims he’s okay, and that he’s “saving his emotional breakdown energy” for something really insurmountable. Which is a pretty healthy attitude. I hope I can maintain a similar level of mental health this summer*, which may be WAY more eventful than I expected it to be.

.

*If we do have to go straight to IVF, it won’t be until May, for a whole host of reasons that I’ll explain in another post.

2 Responses to “Um… IVF here we come?”

  1. cydloren Says:

    I am so sorry! I was hoping for good news for you. 😦 As if your tax news wasn’t bad enough! YOu have alot of discussions ahead for you and hubby…I hope you find the answers together. *hugs*

  2. Kenya Says:

    My sister has sickle-cell. It will be okay, and you can still do an IUI with male factor. They wash the sperm and select the best as usual.

Leave a Reply

